New Te Arataura Chair Announced

Wednesday, 6 April 2022

Tukoroirangi Morgan has been elected Chair of Te Arataura after Linda Te Aho stepped down from the role last week.

Tuku returns to the role he held from 2006-2012 when he helped spearhead the Waikato River settlement claim with both the Labour and National governments alongside the late Lady Raiha Mahuta.

Tuku is adamant the foundational principles of Kiingitanga should be seen as a critical driver in determining how Waikato-Tainui navigates itself through the next few years.

The Kiingitanga representative Ngira Simmonds presided over the election process and informed Kiingi Tuheitia Potatau Te Wherowhero VII of the outcome.

“I look forward to my first formal meeting with our King to reset our future focus in a way that aligns our strategic direction with the expectations of our marae,” said Tuku.

“Linda steered the waka through some turbulent waters as the organisation pivoted and responded to the COVID-19 pandemic.  She also battled hard to advocate for Maori representation on local councils and to have that voice elevated to the respective decision-making tables.  We will see the fruit of that mahi this year in the local body elections,” he said.

“I have undertaken to work closely with the executive and our operational leadership over the next few weeks to confirm our 2022-23 budget approach and strategy to present to our full parliament for ratification in May.

“It is critical that our operational capability is provided with the tools that they need to execute a pathway forward for our people.

“I intend to accelerate our engagement with local, regional and central government agencies because they all have a key role to play in setting policy direction that has a direct impact on our people,” said Tuku.