Waikato-Tainui Remaining Claims


The West Coast Negotiations Team (Negotiations Team) and the Crown have identified a shared aspiration to reach an agreement in principle within 12 to 18 months. An agreement in principle (AIP) is a written initial agreement that broadly describes what will be agreed to in the final settlement. Once this agreement is reached, the Crown will work with the Negotiations Team to write a draft Deed of Settlement.

The Deed of Settlement describes the details of the Settlement and this agreement must be worked through with all impacted government agencies and overlapping interest groups such as other iwi. Once the draft Deed of Settlement has been initialled it will be brought back to the iwi for approval.

These negotiations are an opportunity for iwi, hapuu and claimants to have their Te Tiriti o Waitangi breaches heard and investigated. The Waitangi Tribunal is a permanent commission of inquiry. Its principal functions are to inquire into claims made on behalf of Maaori that allege breaches of Te Tiriti o Waitangi principles, and to make non-binding recommendations to the Crown if those allegations are sustained. There are two avenues claimants can have their claims heard:  through the Waitangi Tribunal or in direct negotiations with the Crown.

Waikato-Tainui Negotiations

The Waikato-Tainui Negotiations Team has entered into direct negotiations with the Crown for the Waikato Tainui Remaining Claims. This is the same process our iwi used for the 1995 Raupatu Claims Settlement, and the 2010 Waikato River Settlement. Although Waikato-Tainui have already been through the Treaty Settlement process twice, the intention is to have different approach to negotiations for this settlement.

The Crown and The Negotiations Team have agreed to a holistic approach to direct negotiations that integrates tikanga Maaori and whakaaro Maaori. A takarangi has been developed which outlines the three key principles in which this settlement is intended to achieve:

  • Mana moana
  • Mana whakahaere
  • Mana motuhake

There are four key priority areas that have been identified in which redress will be sought:

  • Taiao – what is best for our environment
  • Whai Rawa – sustainable economic, investment and commercial opportunities for our harbours whaanau
  • Kaupapa – protection, acknowledgement and inclusion of maatauranga, history, te reo me oona tikanga
  • Hapori – how settlement outcomes will support our communities and tribal members to thrive.

In the centre of the takarangi is the waka hourua framework which guides the way that Waikato-Tainui engages with internal and external stakeholders.